Basic Guidelines to get ETIAS for British Citizens


If you are traveling to the EU within the next two years, you need to be aware of the EU’s new ETIAS Visa Waiver Program, which will soon require all British citizens to apply for an ETIAS waiver before entering the Schengen Area. Here is everything you need to know about how this program works and why it may affect your travel plans!

Who Needs an ETIAS Visa

If you are a British citizen planning to travel to any of the Schengen Area countries, you will need to apply for an ETIAS visa. The Schengen Area is made up of 26 European countries that have agreed to allow free movement of people between them. 

These include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece Hungary Ireland Italy Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden, and Switzerland.

How Long will It Take

Applying for ETIAS should take no longer than 10 minutes. The whole process is electronic and can be completed online. You will need to provide some basic information, such as your name, date of birth, and address.

You will also need to have a valid passport. Once your application is complete, you will receive an email confirmation. You should know that ETIAS is not a visa, but rather a visa waiver. This means that you will still need to obtain a visa from the country you are visiting if required.

Does it Cost Anything

No, the ETIAS visa waiver is free of charge. However, please note that a separate visa may still be required for certain countries.  For example, if you want to visit Iran as part of your trip or if you want to enter the United States. 

If you are planning on entering the Schengen area, which includes all EU countries and Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland, then ETIAS for British citizens is all you will need.

Do you Still Need a Visa if you have an ETIAS Authorization

No, if you have an ETIAS authorization, then you do not need a visa. ETIAS is a new system that will be implemented in 2021 and will allow citizens of certain countries to travel to the Schengen area without a visa.

ETIAS is similar to the US ESTA program and will require travelers to fill out an online application and pay a small fee. The application will ask questions about your health, criminal history, and travel plans.

What are the Requirements and How do you Apply

In order to apply for the ETIAS visa waiver, British citizens must have a valid passport, credit or debit card, and an email address. The application process is simple and can be completed online in just a few minutes. Those who are not eligible for the ETIAS visa waiver will still need to go through the ESTA application process.

The cost of applying for an ETIAS Visa Waiver is $7, but there are no costs associated with making a standard ESTA application. However, both processes require that applicants provide their personal information as well as certain biometric data.

Applicants should also note that while they are allowed to travel with up to five family members under 18 years old without having them complete the same requirements as adults when traveling with minors under 18 years old, there are restrictions on their journey due to limited countries where this policy applies.

What Happens after you Apply

After you apply for the ETIAS visa waiver, your application will be processed by the authorities. If everything goes smoothly, you will receive an email confirming your ETIAS status. Once you have ETIAS, you can travel to any of the Schengen countries for up to 90 days.

Keep in mind that ETIAS is not a work permit, so if you plan on working while in Europe, you will need to apply for a separate work visa.  As always, check with the embassy or consulate before traveling to make sure that you are eligible and that they are aware of your plans.

Summing Up 

Since the beginning of the 21st century, terrorism has been a major concern for people all over the world. In response to this global threat, the European Union introduced the ETIAS in order to screen travelers before they enter the Schengen Area.

The ETIAS for British citizens is required for any traveler from a visa-exempt country planning to visit the Schengen Area for business, tourism, or transit purposes. This visa waiver program will be required for all third-country nationals traveling to the Schengen Area for short stays beginning in 2021.

The program is designed to strengthen security, reduce undocumented immigration and improve border control.  The current Schengen visa waiver program does not require travelers to complete an online application or provide biometric information. As a result, authorities do not have a complete picture of who is entering the Schengen Area and for what purpose.